The Beginning

Hello!

This is the first post of what I hope will be a healthy blog as I try my first hand at running an independent spot on the internet.  If you’ve never seen my writing before, the “About” section has all the essential info you need.  If you came over here from my 1up page, then welcome!

I’ll try to keep my routine here pretty much the same as I did over at 1up – three blog posts a week on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday.  It’s still going to be generally focused on video games, the industry, what I’m playing, etc.

Aside from keeping busy during the search for full time work, my main purpose here is to dredge up some good discussion with (hopefully) well thought-out blog posts.  If what you read here piques your interest, please feel free to comment.

This here will count as my first post for Monday.  My first “actual” post here will be on Wednesday February 15th.

BULLETS:

  • The limited nature of the Twisted Metal demo has shown the biggest flaw of online passes – there’s no way to “rent” or “trial” the online multiplayer of the game once the multiplayer demo ends.  That’s especially bad for a game whose multiplayer is a main component.  I don’t even have a reference to go off of because I’ve never played Twisted Metal – or any vehicular arena combat game for that matter.  If these guys are gonna continue with online passes they need to figure out trials or grace periods like EA is experimenting with.
  • Still trying to come up with a better background image to make the text easier to read. For now I’ll just use the header.
5 thoughts on “The Beginning

  1. Volvocrusher says:

    Good point on Twisted Metal. I was actually considering using a Gamefly trial to play with my friends and see if I really want it. Now I’m just passing it up.

  2. Alex says:

    Hey, nice seeing you here. You getting a PS Vita? I probably will once my tax return comes in.

    • RedSwirl says:

      Probably not until some games come out on it. Elaboration here: http://www.1up.com/do/blogEntry?bId=9095326

      Tried the thing out at GameStop today though. It’s bigger and thinner than I thought it’d be. OLED screen is okay but not “OMFG” like everyone is saying. I really like the Dpad on it though. If it were me I’d put out a new dual shock with that Dpad (or make that the PS4) Dpad.

      • I tried one out at Best Buy today, and the only thing I don’t like is that the face buttons are smaller than I thought they would be. With my fat fingers, that might be a problem for fighting games.

        I still want one, though.

  3. spunkyd99 says:

    Hey, it’s spunky_d_99 from 1Up. Look like you’re off to a good start here!

Leave a Reply

