Fall 2013 Battleplan

2456856-wasteland+kings+2013-03-03+12-50-17-72

After putting down on this blog my surprise at all the PC and indie games rushing through this fall I decided to finally look at my list of hopeful game purchases for the season. This fall is one of the biggest ever with two console launches, but honestly I’m interested in almost none of 2013’s shiny next-gen games.

I’m trying not to come off as some anti-next-gen-blockbuster hipster, but nearly everything I plan to buy this fall is indie. That and my lack of big interest in the bigger releases actually makes buying into either console at launch not a real priority for me.

From a pure content standpoint the next-gen consoles are actually going to have pretty great launch window lineups, packed with not only big blockbusters but plenty of bite-sized, more creative games. Sure almost none of that content is exclusive, but the $400 PS4 is still gonna start off with a nice library and a good graphical leap from the current-generation systems. What’s more interesting is that during launch the PS4 will pretty much immediately get several free-to-play games. In my opinion either new console is probably a great choice if you’re hyped up for the games.

Of all those next-gen games coming around though, I’m just mildly interested in three: Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag, Watch_Dogs, and Killzone Shadow Fall. In fact, right now I’m only sure to buy a couple full packaged games: Rayman Legends and The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds. I’m thinking about the HD versions of Kingdom Hearts and Final Fantasy X.

The list of indie works I want to get into this year however shocked me:
Amnesia: A Machine For Pigs
Spelunky
Betrayer
Legend of Dungeon
Wasteland Kings
Shovel Knight
(if it makes 2013)

Most of the high-profile stuff coming out this fall is just guns and cars from what I can see, and I don’t think I’m quite ready to jump into another standard first person shooter. A while ago I said since Last of Us I was a bit tired of the standard big-budget action game, and I guess I’ll be in that mode for the remainder of the year. I’m a bit interested in Shadow Fall because the campaign is supposed to be going back to objective-based, open-ended level design similar to GoldenEye or the first Crysis, which I’ve wanted to see for a while.

In fact the main reason for my shift towards indie is because I’m just looking for more systemic experiences right now that offer more player agency. The games I listed above all work entirely on unique gameplay setups not obscured by all the features producers think games need to sell to the lowest common denominator. That systemic approach is the only reason Creed IV and Watch_Dogs have my attention at all.

The other commonality between all these games is that they are or will be available on PC excluding Shadow Fall, on top of a pile of PC games I own but still haven’t played. Not to get into PC gamer talk but that’s why it makes more sense for me to build a new computer right now than buy a new console.

Strangely, if I did end up getting a new console it would probably be a Wii U if I had the extra money. It actually has the most exclusives I’m interested in right now between Wonderful 101, Super Mario 3D World, Zelda Wind Waker HD, and a bunch of Virtual Console games.

Aside from that possibility, my choice of games this fall will at least be a lot easier on my wallet.

BULLETS:

Tagged , , , , ,

One thought on “Fall 2013 Battleplan

  1. I’m going to get an Xbox One and three games- Forza Motorsport 5, Need for Speed Rivals and Killer Instinct- and the HD versions of Final Fantasy X and Kingdom Hearts for PS3. And Pac-Man CE DX+ and Pinball Arcade for Steam.

Leave a Reply

