I Need Some New 2D Handheld Action Games

IMG_5257_copy

Indies are just getting better and better every time I look at Kickstarter or even Steam Greenlight. I’m starting to get a strange urge with these games though. I’m wondering if anyone else is feeling a desire to play games like Rogue Legacy or La-Mulana on handhelds. It’s bringing up a whole mess of technical issues though.

I suspect this desire in me is coming from nostalgia for the Game Boy Advance.  A while ago I set up all my old game boxes on a shelf, including my old Game Boy games. Now, whenever I look the boxes for Metroid Fusion, Castlevania Aria of Sorrow, or Mega Man Zero, I start wanting to play new games like those on a handheld, specifically 2D action games. I see all the new indies coming out and think those would be great to play on handhelds, but there aren’t that many options.

A lot of these games are eventually gonna be out for Vita. Even if I bought one though, I’d just have to end up re-buying some games I already own like Rayman Legends or Rogue Legacy. The other problem is that the dominant platform for these games still seems to be Windows.

Many of these fresh indie games like Frogatto, Oniken, The Swapper, Valdis Story: Abyssal City, or Chasm, don’t even have console versions, much less Vita or 3DS versions. I’m pretty much forced to just play them on my PC.

Valve’s Steam Machine initiative is a nice thing for bringing this kid of gaming to the television in an easy way, but I keep wondering if some kind of handheld Steam Machine would even be possible. Maybe the Nvidia Shield is what I need to take a look at.

I’m thinking this theoretical handheld Steam Machine would stream Windows games (like Vita remote play). Hopefully it could be just beefy enough to play some indie games natively — many of them don’t take a lot of horsepower to run. Basically it’d be a portable Linux machine and Linux is getting extremely popular with indies.

That’s just fantasy land thinking at this point though. I should probably just start looking at existing handheld action games I haven’t played yet. I think there are still a few.

I’ve got a handful of unplayed games installed on my PSP like Maverick Hunter X, Prinny: Can I Really Be the Hero?, and Disgaea: Afternoon of Darkness. On the DS I still haven’t played Castlevania Order of Ecclessia, or finished a bunch of the RPGs on that system. SteamWorld Dig for the 3DS looks pretty good.

Maybe I’m just mad Nintendo never made another 2D Metroid for the DS or 3DS.

BULLETS:

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

