What Will They Have To Do To Sell You On Consoles At E3?

Being the first E3 after the launch of new consoles, next week is probably going to be the week developers, publishers, and console manufacturers make their best cases for why you should upgrade. I already talked about how a lot of the content, including most of the exclusives, isn’t coming out until 2015, but E3 2014 is still when it all get’s exposed. Despite already owning a gaming-quality PC, I have to admit Sony and Microsoft have a legitimate shot of selling me on their new consoles in the long term.

There’s already a ton of known software I’m excited to see at E3 between Mortal Kombat X, The Witcher 3, Super Smash Bros., Evolve, Far Cry 4, Assassin’s Creed Unity, and a lot more. Even with all that we still have a bunch of unannounced games set to be unveiled. I’m probably gonna spend most of the summer pouring over screenshots and videos.

Microsoft I think has the most work to do in selling me on its new console. They’ve already done much of it by chucking Kinect for price parity with the PS4 and letting go of the paywall for media apps. Since my PC’s graphics card already compares favorably to both new consoles, I’m pretty much gonna be playing every third party multiplatform game on PC, so from my perspective exclusives are pretty much all that are going to matter, and almost all those exclusives will probably be first party.

Unfortunately for Microsoft, I’m not a huge fan of Halo. I think the games are great but I got into them really late and thus don’t have an absolute need to own the next Halo. That said I’m still interested in what Halo 5 will look like. If Microsoft actually ends up unveiling a collection of the four numbered Halo games tn 1080p I admit that would be pretty enticing. I have no idea what else they could do though. I’m also personally not that pumped up for Quantum Break but I know a lot of people are. Maybe if that exclusive deal with Platinum Games turns out to be more than a rumor — they’re a developer whose games I’ll nearly always buy sight unseen.

Sony’s chances of selling me on a PS4 next week rely almost completely on certain rumors being true. I continue to hold out hope for The Last Guardian, but honestly, what it’s really about for me is “Project Beast.” I think I already said a Demon’s Souls sequel is pretty much the only game that by itself could sell me on a PS4, and “Project Beast” looks like something of that nature. We have footage so we know it’s a real game, we just don’t know much else. Uncharted 4 will probably be amazing too.

I already know I’m going to buy a Wii U eventually, I just don’t know when. My number one most anticipated game of E3 right now is Super Smash Bros., both on Wii U and the 3DS I already own. If you pay attention though, you’ll notice Nintendo plans to show off four as-of-yet unannounced games next week. News sites have been buzzing about one of them which Nintendo confirmed is a “new 3DS game” that’s apparently a big enough deal for Nintendo to hold an E3 roundtable about it — the kind of roundtable that’s usually reserved for a Zelda game. Those unannounced games better be Wii U titles for the sake of that system’s software lineup. Chances of Zelda Wii U appearing? I think there’s a decent chance we’ll see a reveal trailer but not much more.

Everything else I’m hyped for is third party, and I feel like there’s too much of it to cover in this post. I feel like this might be one of the most exciting E3s in terms of software, but that could just be my preferences.

BULLETS:

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “What Will They Have To Do To Sell You On Consoles At E3?

  1. […] looks like none of E3 2014’s press conferences have allayed my main concern I voiced last week: almost everything is coming out next year, especially the biggest console exclusives. I think […]

Leave a Reply

