[E3 2016] No E3 Predictions

E3-2016-donne-rendez-vous

It seems like E3 has kind of already kicked off with leaks and pre-E3 stream. In the past this might have been some kind of E3 predictions post but I’ve moved on from that kind of thing.

I don’t know if this is some kind of zen thing, but I’ve pretty much decided not to “expect” or “predict” anything from E3 this year. That’s not pessimism, that’s just me trying to let the proceedings flow. I won’t be disappointed, and if there are pleasant surprises then they’ll be pleasant surprises.

From what I do understand though, this might be one of the smallest E3s in a while. I don’t have the exact information off the top of my head right now, but there are going to be a lot fewer exhibitors this year compared to last year. EA’s not even really going to be there right? That company’s press conference is going to be technically separate from E3. That’s the thing: a lot of publishers and developers aren’t sure they need E3 anymore.

We need to remember the original purpose of E3: to show retailers what they needed to get ready to stock in the coming months. Retail is still here, but it’s no longer the main center of the video game industry. A company that’s mainly making money off digital products or free-to-play microtransactions doesn’t really need E3. It can show its game off wherever and whenever it wants. Even the massive publishers are putting out fewer retail games compared to previous console generations. So, if something feels kind of off in this regard when absorbing E3 news in the next couple weeks, that might be why.

Of course the elephants in the room are the strongly rumored upgraded game consoles — hardware I guess being the biggest remaining thing that matters to retail. I’ve made multiple posts about why I personally see them as ultimately a good thing. I guess that’s of some importance to me since I have yet to acquire a PS4, but I’m not gonna get all up in arms about the announcements versus expectations. Of course the announcements might influence my buying decisions, but I’m not pinning my hopes and dreams on those announcements.

As for the games, I’ve already said I’m only truly hyped for one game this year — that was supposed to be out at the end of this month. Everything else to me is either “I’ll probably buy it” to “…okay.” Of course there will be new reveals, and like I said above they might just be pleasant surprises. I won’t deny there is a part of my brain though still hoping for Zelda to be absolutely dope.

BULLETS:

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

Quest Board

Knowledge, Fun, and Experience Await

Journalism, Journalists and the World

Making the world relevant to journalists

Stephanie Carmichael

Freelance writer and copy editor / games journalist / blogger extraordinaire

Black Millennials

Cultural Empowerment for Black 20somethings

Ackk Studios

There is something a little unusual going on here...

Drowning In Multimedia

From videogames to TV shows and everything in between

Gamerly Musings

Where failed pitches go to shine.

Malstrom's Articles News

“The game has changed, ... and the way the game is played has to be changed.” -Iwata

Whitney Rhodes

Writer, videographer, journalist, gamer

Ye Olde Nick Suttner Blogge

Somewhere to keep thoughts on things.

The Squadron of Shame Squawkbox

I hear you like games. So do we.

